The 62nd GRAMMY Awards are coming up January 26, and this year's nominees were just announced.

Minnesota star Lizzo not only made the list of nominations but leads the pack at a whopping eight! Fellow new-comers Billie Eilish and Lil Nas X trailed close behind at six nominations each.

The "Good as Hell" singer's eight nominations are:

1. Record of the Year -- "Truth Hurts"

2. Album of the Year -- "Cuz I Luv You" (Deluxe)

3. Song of the Year -- "Truth Hurts"

4. Best New Artist

5. Best Pop Solo Performance -- "Truth Hurts"

6. Best R&B Performance -- "Exactly How I Feel" with Gucci Mane 

7. Best Traditional R&B Performance -- "Jerome"

8. Best Urban Contemporary Album -- "Cuz I Luv You" (Deluxe)

2019 has been a heck of a year for the Minneapolis-based artist. In August, Justin Timberlake shared a video to Twitter that showed him and Lizzo working together in studio. In July, Lizzo brought the "Juice" to Glastonbury Festival in the UK. The same month, she performed an NPR tiny desk concert and was nominated for two 2019 MTV Video Music Awards. In April, Lizzo's album Cuz I Love You debuted at No. 1 on iTunes Albums chart. Lizzo's also had her share of controversy, including being sued by a Postmates driver for defamation and claims of plagiarism for her now GRAMMY-nominated song "Truth Hurts."

“The men who now claim a piece of ‘Truth Hurts’ did not help me write any part of the song," she shared in a Twitter post. "They had nothing to do with the line or how I chose to sing it. There was no one in the room when I wrote ‘Truth Hurts,’ except me, Ricky Reed and my tears.”

Check out the full list of GRAMMY nominations here. The GRAMMY Awards will air Sunday, January 26 on CBS.

Mix 94.9 logo
Get our free mobile app

More From Mix 94.9