A Refresher on Minnesota School Bus Rules and Laws
With the start of a new school year just weeks away, it is a good time to refresh ourselves on the laws and rules around school buses!
- Minnesota law requires drivers to stop at least 20 feet from a school bus that is displaying its flashing lights and stop arm.
- Drivers must stop in BOTH directions when lights are flashing and the stop arm is out, unless it is a separated roadway.
- Passing a stopped school bus on the right is a fine of $500 to $1,200 and license suspension of 30 days.
- Arriving at the bus stop 5 minutes early will help ensure that kids aren't running along side or chasing after the bus, which could cause injuries.
- Stay out of the "Danger Zone" as much as possible. It is the 10 feet around the bus, especially right in front of it and in the back right corner.
- Before crossing the street, take five “giant steps” out from the front of the bus, or until the driver’s face can be seen. Wait for the driver to signal that it’s safe to cross.
Here is a good video to watch with your kids before school starts!